Kevin Munc

Kevin Munc

Browser Console & Homework Help

My tech skills came in handy for helping my daughter with homework tonight.

She came to me saying she couldn’t save work she had done for Physical Sciences class. I open up Developer Tools in the browser and see that she’s hitting 401s that the UI is not telling her about. She logs in and all is save-able.

It’s poor that it didn’t prompt properly for this. It is also poor that it let her session die while she was still active on a page. (It is built in Unity, from what I gather.)

Then, she cannot get the next step to load. I look again, and now see 500 errors. Server-side issue. We try a few things (a different browser; tethered to her phone, off the home network) just to eliminate possibilities, but in the end a screenshot of the JS console showing the 500 error is sent to the teacher via email.

My daughter really seemed to appreciate the help. 😃